Hancock County Board of Supervisors

Hancock County, Mississippi is governed by the Board of Supervisors, which lawful actions conducts the business of the county as set forth by Mississippi statutes.  The Supervisors function within the legislative and executive branches of government.  Hancock County has five elected District Supervisors, each being elected from one of the five geographic districts that are approximately equal in population.  The Supervisors not only represent their own respective district but are expected to promote the health, safety, and welfare of all citizens and businesses in Hancock County as a whole.  Each Supervisor serves a four-year term before running for re-election.

The Board of Supervisors have full authority over all the roads and bridges in the unincorporated areas of Hancock County, as well as, levying taxes, overseeing county law enforcement, collections, fines, and approves an annual budget and millage rate, which funds the operations of the offices and departments under the Board’s jurisdiction.

Primary Duties ~

  • Adopt annual budget
  • Set annual property tax rate
  • Adopt orders, resolutions and ordinances as necessary for the welfare of Hancock County
  • Promote growth and development throughout the county
  • Appoint individuals to carry out the daily business of the county such as the County Administrator

The Board of Supervisors chooses from its members a president and vice president at the beginning of each year to serve in that capacity during the following year.  The Board President presides during the Board meetings, and signs documents representing the governing body of Hancock County.  The Vice President substitutes for the Board President in the event the Board President is absent or unavailable.

Theresa Ryan

Theresa Ryan
District 1 Supervisor


Email Theresa Ryan

About Theresa Ryan

“I am a proud lifelong resident of Hancock County. I attended the University of Southern Mississippi and graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science. I worked for over twenty-five years in the Information Technology (IT) field, serving as IT Manager at Stennis Space Center.

I currently own and operate an Information Technology company (Computer Solutions LLC) in Hancock County, providing computer and network services and equipment to small businesses, non-profits, and individuals in the area.  I am dedicated to representing the residents of District 1 and the rest of Hancock County.” 

Greg Shaw

Greg Shaw
District 2 Supervisor


Email Greg Shaw

About Greg Shaw

“I was born in Bay St. Louis Mississippi and have been a resident of Hancock County for over seventy-one years.  I am married to Suzette Ladner Shaw; we have two sons, Craig and Braden, and eight grandchildren.  I am proud to call Hancock County my home and enjoyed raising my family here.  My dream was to work for the county I love and strive to bring improvements to ensure livability for not only my family but all citizens.”  Hancock County is a wonderful place to live and I am fully committed to serving the residents of District 2 and the rest of Hancock County.”

Kodie Koenenn

Kodie Koenenn
District 3 Supervisor, Vice President

Email Kodie Koenenn

About Kodie Koenenn

 Mr. Koenenn’s Bio will be coming soon

Scotty Adam

Scotty Adam
District 4 Supervisor, Board President

Email Scotty Adam

About Scotty Adam

“I am a lifelong resident of Hancock County; a place I am proud to call home. I am happily married to my wife Tammy of 37 years.  We have 3 children, our sons Brennan, his wife Lindsay, Colby and his wife Danielle, and our daughter Kendyl. We have been blessed with 7 grandchildren.

I am the son of Clayton and Carolyn Adam, to which I am the 7th of 9 children.

I love my community and I am committed to making Hancock County a great place for us all to raise a family.”

DarrinBo Ladner

Darrin Bo Ladner
District 5 Supervisor

Email Darrin Bo Ladner

About Darrin Bo Ladner

“I have been a resident of Hancock County for over 56 years and have raised my family here.  I have one son, Justin, my daughter, Jaylin, and one grandson, Greyston.  I have enjoyed life with my girlfriend, Christine for over 11 years.  Hancock County is my home and I’m devoted to serving the citizens of District 5 and all residents of Hancock County.”    

District Maps

View maps of Hancock County’s Supervisor Districts:

Board Meetings ~

The Hancock County Board of Supervisors meet on the first and third Monday of each month in the Board Meeting Room located at the Hancock County Government Annex. If a regular scheduled meeting falls on a holiday, the Board meets on the next working day following the holiday. All meetings begin at 9:00 a.m., unless otherwise announced, and are open to the public.

If you wish to appear before the Board of Supervisors to discuss an important matter pertaining to the county, you must notify Valerie Fitts, Board Secretary, at valerie.fitts@co.hancock.ms.us or 228-467-0172 not later than Noon on the Wednesday prior to the Monday meeting. Any backup information and/or exhibits pertaining to the matter you wish to discuss can be emailed to valerie.fitts@co.hancock.ms.us must be delivered to the Board Office by the same deadline.


Contact Information

Hancock County Government Annex

854 Highway 90, Suite A
Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
(228) 467-0172
Fax (228) 466-5994