Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors Group Photo


  • 9 am
  • 1st and 3rd Monday of every month
  • Board Meeting Room
    854 Highway 90
    Suite A
    St. Louis, MS 39520

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  1. Theresa Ryan

    Theresa Ryan

    District 1 Supervisor

  1. Greg Shaw

    Greg Shaw

    District 2 Supervisor

  1. Kodie Koenenn

    Kodie Koenenn

    District 3 Supervisor | Vice President

  1. Scotty Adam

    Scotty Adam

    District 4 Supervisor | Board President

  1. Darrin Bo Ladner

    Darrin Bo Ladner

    District 5 Supervisor


Hancock County, Mississippi is governed by the Board of Supervisors, which lawful actions conduct the business of the county as set forth by Mississippi statutes. The Board of Supervisors function within the legislative and executive branches of government. Hancock County has five elected District Supervisors, each being elected from one of the five geographic districts that are approximately equal in population. The Supervisors not only represent their own respective district but are expected to promote the health, safety, and welfare of all citizens and businesses in Hancock County as a whole. Each Supervisor serves a four-year term before running for re-election.

The Board of Supervisors has full authority over all the roads and bridges in the unincorporated areas of Hancock County, as well as, levying taxes, overseeing county law enforcement, collections, fines, and approves an annual budget and millage rate, which funds the operations of the offices and departments under the Board's jurisdiction.

Primary Duties:

  • Adopt annual budget
  • Set annual property tax rate
  • Adopt orders, resolutions, and ordinances as necessary for the welfare of Hancock County
  • Promote growth and development throughout the county
  • Appoint individuals to carry out the daily business of the county such as the County Administrator

The Board of Supervisors chooses from its members a president and vice president at the beginning of each year to serve in that capacity during the following year. The Board President presides during the Board meetings and signs documents representing the governing body of Hancock County. The Vice President substitutes for the Board President in the event the Board President is absent or unavailable.

Board Meetings

The Hancock County Board of Supervisors meets on the first and third Monday of each month in the Board Meeting Room located at the Hancock County Government Annex. If a regularly scheduled meeting falls on a holiday, the Board meets on the next working day following the holiday. All meetings begin at 9 am unless otherwise announced, and are open to the public.

If you wish to appear before the Board of Supervisors to discuss an important matter pertaining to the county, please email Valerie Fitts - Board Secretary, or call 228-467-0172 no later than Noon on the Wednesday prior to the Monday meeting. Any backup information and/or exhibits pertaining to the matter you wish to discuss can be emailed to Valerie Fitts and must be delivered to the Board Office by the same deadline.